PDA

View Full Version : Getting burned by having a knife

Tyger
04-22-2001, 06:38 PM
I know there have been variations of this
question before, but since the topic is fresh
in my mind I wanted to bring it up again. What
do you see as the problems with carrying a knife?

Do you think it creates a false sense of sec-
urity? Is a person more likely to hurt them-
selves than their attacker if they aren't highly
trained to use a blade? Since I started training
to use a knife a few weeks ago I've wondered if
I might want to carry one but my Shifu warns me
that although ethicly it may be okay, I will al-
most always seem like a bad guy in the eyes of
the law. I don't really want to go out and cut
anybody up, but if a big guy comes at me, having
a knife might defuse the situation and give me
a chance to get out before blows are thrown. Am
I just kidding myself with this one?

I know that it's better to be tried by 12 than
carried by 6, but is carrying a knife more
trouble than it's worth? And if not, what do you
need to do to make having a knife an asset?

Thanks

If you want to be great, you have to stop wanting and simply be.

Budokan
04-22-2001, 09:16 PM
I've got a news flash for you. Having a knife or any other weapon isn't necessarily going to "defuse" a situation where a big guy is coming at you. Martial arts is all about avoidance. That's a basic philosophical rule everyone knows but few practice with diligence.

Having said that, I don't see anyting inherently wrong by carrying a knife, (as long as it's legal)m but it's your sifu's call and your ultimate decision whether or not you want to heed his advice. Just remember: a knife is as much trouble or as much help as the person carrying it.

K. Mark Hoover

JerryLove
04-22-2001, 11:52 PM
*banging head against wall*

A martial art is about cultivating skills suitable for war or a warrior (by definition). More specifically, it's about personal combat skills.