PDA

View Full Version : what are the benifits of meditation?

jbmmaster
09-04-2003, 04:44 PM
I was wondering since im new to meditation what kind of benefits do you get from doing it?

I started to feel a tingling feeling on my face and really strong on my hands and fingers it was pretty exciting to me, is this because of strong chi circulation? maybe i shouldn't concentrate on this sensation and keep trying to focus on my breath.

when i meditate i lye on my back and put my knees up in the air then i put one hand over another over my dan tien, I believe thats what its called. The reason why I do this meditation posture is because when i do the cross legged one the circulation in my legs and feet get cut off and i dont know if this is harmful or not.

Any comments please

Former castleva
09-04-2003, 04:53 PM
http://ezine.kungfumagazine.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=20501&highlight=meditation

Do forgive me.The link has seen itīs better days.
Quickly,I searched for any back-up;
http://www.mcg.edu/news/2003NewsRel/meditation.html

jbmmaster
09-04-2003, 05:57 PM
A trick with sitting cross legged is to use your mind to lead blood through the locked joints.

I cant say im experienced enough to do this. Must i use YI (intent) for this to be possible.

Buddy
09-06-2003, 12:13 PM
Take a look at "Taoist Yoga" by Lu Kuan Yu. This issues is addressed.
Buddy

Repulsive Monkey
09-06-2003, 12:31 PM
In the short term - reduced stress, better sleep, better metabolism, brighter nature, better clarity, keener perception

Long term - enlightenment.

TaiChiBob
09-19-2003, 07:30 AM
Greetings..