PDA

View Full Version : many forms, styles, techniques...

Falcor
09-16-2003, 01:57 PM
I have a questions for people who study/have studied multiple systems, or styles with many forms. Do you find that you forget some of these forms, and if not, how do you manage to remember them all (given life, work, sleep, etc)? And if you do, do you find that you prioritize them such that your "favorite" forms or entire systems are what you practice, and others are more "yeah, I know them, but I'm not that good at it anymore" status? I would be most interested to hear from teachers who teach multiple systems.
Thanks.

norther practitioner
09-16-2003, 02:31 PM
I know about 17 forms, 13 of which are from my current school. I have to regularly teach the beginning forms, and practice most of the rest regularly. 3 I have finished learning in the last few months so I practice those maybe 2 or 3 days a week, and teach 4 of the other ones at least once a week, and most of us in my school do the others fairly regularly. There is one that I always seem to foget a spot or two in, but I'll start having to teach that one soon, and that should just come back. As far as multiple styles etc... some of those are taiji forms, most of them are long fist forms and one is a lama fist form. I also am at the school at lot though (about 5 days a week now), so I do have time to practice them. What we do for the beginners though is every 3rd or 4th class we do a review. We'll go over all the forms that they have learned, all of the aps, chi na, etc... That helps them (and me) out a lot. What I want to do starting soon though is go through about 4-5 forms each day to keep them all fresh and pump up the workout before a few tournies that I'm going to go to in the next year.

Judge Pen
09-16-2003, 02:43 PM
Ahh. Several forms. :)