PDA

View Full Version : What is the differnces, between Northern and Southern Mantis?

8gates
09-17-2003, 10:38 PM
Hello,
I'm new to the KF Fourms, I practice Yang Short style Tai Chi Chuan and 13 Movement Tai Chi.
I know a little about the Mantis style, but can anyone tell me what are the differnces, between Northern and Southern Mantis?

Thank You.

Oso
09-18-2003, 06:12 AM
I'll take a stab at this one, though there are probably more knowledgeble folks that can tell you more.

The origins of the two are completely different. Northern being derived from several patently 'northern' flavored systems such as long fist and eagle claw. There are many threads about the origins of NPM here.

Southern has it's origins in the Hakka people's of southern china and has a distinctly southern short hand flavor. My experience w/ southern mantis was comparable to my experience with hung gar: shorter, somewhat tighter hand work and similar stances and footwork methods. In the two day seminar I attended there was no use or mention of the 'mantis claw' and no 'ou lou tsai' type of pattern at all. I've read somewhere (though I can't recall where) that the 'mantis' aspect/name for southern mantis was created as a mask of sorts. Don't hold me to that and I'll deny everything. ;)

spend some time searching the archives, you'll probably find many answers there and hopefully some of the people here will chime in...I'm curious too.

PHILBERT
09-18-2003, 06:47 AM
The North Side (http://www.shaolin.com/page.asp?content_id=975)

The South Side (http://www.shaolin.com/page.asp?content_id=978)

Eight Step's history (http://www.8step.com/mantis/mantis.html)

Oso
09-18-2003, 06:56 AM
the responses to that site's NPM history and description will certainly be entertaining and educational.;)

mantis108
09-18-2003, 11:31 AM
Welcome to the board, 8gates. :)