PDA

View Full Version : BJJ and deformed ear lobes

Sihing Tom
09-27-2003, 05:22 PM
Greetings,

Someone I know is interested in studying Brazilian JuJitsu. He is concerned about disfiguring his ear lobes through continuous training. His concern is due to the fact his professions require him to meet clients on a regular basis. Can someone please explain their experience with this. Thanks!

Starchaser107
09-27-2003, 06:00 PM
Sumo wrestlers and hardcore grapplers face this problem. its not necessarily a guarantee that one will sustain this kind of injury. but one should get involved wihth martial arts with the expectation of sustaining a few injuries every now and then.. it is the nature of the game.

chen zhen
09-28-2003, 02:34 AM
since im only a beginner, i dont know of this problem. But I dont think he will get it unless his ears will be mashed to the mat all the time..;)
your friends just gotta be good:D

-cz

T'ai Ji Monkey
09-28-2003, 04:56 AM
Cauliflower Ear (http://www.medicinenet.com/Cauliflower_Ear/article.htm)

Kristoffer
09-28-2003, 07:20 AM
I hate people who whines about how a black eye or a cut here and there will make them look bad in the meetings at work. I truly do. Martial art isn't a game, u should see injuries as someting that could happen and not whine about it. As for the ear thing, it's pretty normal and almost all grapplers get it. The ears isn't 'deformed' :rolleyes: .. it's hardend. Seriously if he sees this as a huge problem he should switch to aerobics.

chingei
09-28-2003, 09:25 AM
Originally posted by chen zhen
since im only a beginner, i dont know of this problem. But I dont think he will get it unless
-cz

He probably will get it.

chen zhen
09-28-2003, 09:42 AM
STFU beeyaach;)

T'ai Ji Monkey
09-28-2003, 04:13 PM
Originally posted by chingei
He probably will get it.

He shouldn't if he wears the right head-gear/ear-protection.

One of the reasons why you now see many wrestlers sporting those "cute" little head-pieces.