PDA

View Full Version : Plz tell me what you know of kenpo/kempo

huff
07-26-2001, 05:06 AM
I study both systems and im just looking for the general attitude and knowledge of these two systems. If you dont mind :cool: :cool:

Theory without practise is like a cloud without rain!

Nexus
08-02-2001, 08:03 PM
I studied Kempo, and after I stopped (I studied it for 5 years?) I reflected on it and found there to be a lot of politics involved. Beyond that I found it to be more convincing of its effectiveness on the streets then it actually was. If anything, it taught me how to do a good hard(punch) and hard(kick) and it taught a few useful blocking techniques but kempo is much too concerned with accepting incoming power with a direct block rather then yielding. It also is a two-attack fighting system most of the time, blocking then attacking, defending then attacking etc.

It has its good and bad points like any MA but it is deffinetely better then some and if you are at a good kempo school then they can probably prepare you for street defense, but thats after at least 5-10 years IMO of course.

Good Luck!

- Nexus

Freedom is what you do with what is done to you. - Sartres

Dark Knight
08-02-2001, 09:16 PM
Nexus, what style of Kempo? The Kempo I have seen is concerned about the self defense capability early in the training. And what you learn later is effective but takes time.

Tigerdragon
08-03-2001, 08:13 AM
That not all forms of Kenpo/Kempo are going to be the same. It will very from style/organization to style/organization. Just like any other art out there. Some are better in one area of skills while others are weaker in that but stronger somewhere else.