PDA

View Full Version : Whats Water For??

Xebsball
10-18-2003, 05:55 PM
Hey you people :)

I read on some places, and i hear from buncha people
That water is important in losing weight process

I've been getting the tip that one should drink a good amount of water cos that would help on losing weight...

What i wanna know is:
Wich is the explanation (scientifical of course) to such thing?
What are the studies done related to this and their results? (please point a site if possible too)

Please dont answer like:
"Oh water is very important on the organism, its important on everything your organism do, son"

Give me a more complete ansewr please, remember im an a student and shyt like that and im not stupid, so answers be complete as possible.
Most thankfull for your time.

Vash
10-18-2003, 06:01 PM
It'll keep you full so you don't each so much.

It'll flush out extra water you're retaining.

Xdr4g0nx
10-18-2003, 07:03 PM
vash im not trying to be condesending but how can taking in EXTRA water get rid of EXTRA water that ur retaining?

CrippledAvenger
10-18-2003, 07:05 PM
Because your body stops hoarding the water, as happens when you don't drink enough water?

That's the explaination I've heard.

IronFist
10-18-2003, 11:05 PM
When you drink more water your body gets used to a lot of water coming in and stops holding so much of it. In the beginning you'll pee a lot, though. Actually, I find that when I increase my water intake I'll still gain 2-3lbs. So if you're asking about the importance of drinking a lot of water when dieting, I'd say it's basically to make sure that you stay hydrated. I don't know that much about diet, but I don't know of any special reasons to drink extra water when trying to lose weight.

Also, if you drink more water and gain a pound or two, don't worry cuz remember, it's the mirror that counts more than the scale (unless you're trying to make a weight class or something).

fa_jing
10-19-2003, 07:31 PM