PDA

View Full Version : The culture of OVERTRAINING in MARTIAL ART

Xebsball
10-18-2003, 06:01 PM
So...

i noticed,
its a common thing attitude on many/most martial arts classes -> the overtraining culture
the idea that OH IM A MARTIAL ARTIST SO TOUGH then people train so hard, more than their body should do and then FOCK their systems.
And the instructor pushing: U CAN DO MORE! DONT GIVE UP U WIMP!!!!
What im saying is:
Martial Arts have an overtrainig culture that says the training only is really good WHEN YOUR BODY HURTS
BUT ITS NOT TRUE, your body shouldnt hurt for days after you trained - if it does it means YOU OVERTRAINED U STUPID KUNT - or your studpid instructor pushed you to do it. YOU ARE ONLY HURTING YOUR BODY AND YOUR PROGRESS
This is something specially important for newbies

Thank you.

Vash
10-18-2003, 06:12 PM
Dang straight. Pain is not good. Soreness is okay. But it shouldn't last more than a day at the most and shouldn't hinder regular day-to-day activities or training.

Whassamatta Xebs? Get too many pushups for talking out of turn? :p

Ikken Hisatsu
10-18-2003, 09:19 PM
no pain no gain? its bull****. your body hurts for a reason. Im usually sore the day after, and while I do push myself (I dont consider it a good training lesson unless Im sweating like a pig by then end) I never train with an injury or push myself over my boundaries.

shaolinarab
10-18-2003, 09:48 PM
well my dumbazz got kicked good in the side during sparring class, and it felt like a bruised rib the next few days... the following week got hit really hard in the same spot again. that time, though, i became too sore to even lift my leg up for any kicks. i then said fug it, no more sparring until it heals! :mad:

Vash
10-18-2003, 09:57 PM
Ah, memories ;)