PDA

View Full Version : Enter the Dragon

the running guy
04-18-2003, 09:32 PM
I am a college student working on a paper for my Cultural Anthropology class. My assignment is to examine how a society (“the west” in this case) reacts to images in the media that portray the “other” (Chinese culture). I am currently writing my paper on images of Chinese culture that are represented in the Bruce Lee classic “Enter the Dragon.”
Please send me any thoughts you may have or cite any images from the movie that you found particularly powerful. Not all of these images have to be good. Please mention if you find any images of ethnocentrism, racism, or prejudice.
Please also be aware that I may quote any post in this thread. In maintaining anonymity, I will only use screen names to cite these quotes. If you do not wish to have even your screen name published, please mention this in your post, and I will use anonymous as the citation.
Your opinions matter to me. I thank you for any time you spend reading or responding to this post.
Sincerely,
Humble College Student

cho
04-18-2003, 10:33 PM
I'd say Enter the Dragon is the most mainstream of fu flicks. It set the standard for the stereotype of chinese martial arts, wherein practioners make high pitch screams.

If you're looking for how the west portrays the east, Romeo Must Die is another one.

SanSoo Student
04-18-2003, 11:09 PM
Well this was a big step up for kung fu, and traditional martial arts. Before the introduction of Kung Fu from pioneers such as Bruce Lee, people would've still have looked Kung Fu as a sort of karate.
Kung fu and martial arts began to spread because of the influence it had through the big screen.

scotty1
04-19-2003, 12:46 AM
Sorry dude never really paid that much attention to it but I'll TTT it for ya

David Jamieson
04-19-2003, 06:36 AM