PDA

View Full Version : What do you think?

Ren Blade
10-31-2003, 07:11 AM
Why don't we see much Mantis being used in movies? Most of the Praying Mantis are done in the old Kung Fu movies. But how bout now? It would be fun to watch some Mantis used again in new movies. A modern piece with traditional Mantis used in the fights.

bung bo
10-31-2003, 01:24 PM
sorry, i hate to say it, (i really do) but today's audiences don't want to see anything real. although i like the matrix, all john q. public wants to see is movie fu. it would be cool to see any traditional style in a new movie, but i'm a bit partial to mantis.

Ren Blade
11-03-2003, 09:28 AM
I'm a Martial Artist that's been training for the past 13 years. I'm pursuing an acting career for the past 2 years. I've learned acting and stage combat during those past 2 years and still learning. I'm trying to get into the entertainment business little by little. Been doing little stuff like student films and commercials. Recently joined Screen Actors Guild and might be having a role in an independant film called Deadend that I auditioned for a few weeks ago.

I have plans to get into mainstream action movies and bring the old school back. Mix it up the old school with new school. I especially want to bring back Praying Mantis. I think the modern American audience can appreciate Praying Mantis. Old school choreography is harder to make up and especially harder to do for actors who have little or no training in traditional arts.

Here's a little fight I did with some friends a few weeks ago. It's little rough and could be better if we practiced this choreography for a couple more days. But our cameraman wanted to shoot right away as soon as we had the choreography memorized. That's our excuse for looking a little off. :p I'm the Asian guy in the white pants. My real name is Walter.

http://www.neo-modus.com/stuntpeople/pete/rehearsal2.mpg