PDA

View Full Version : Shaolin Staff Question

moeman
12-04-2003, 05:37 PM
I'm just starting to learn Shaolin Staff forms (fire set) and I've just purchased a 6' long rattan staff. It has "skin on" (quite unfinished, no sanding or burning). My sifu recommends a rattan staff, but likes the more finished ones since they have more spring action, and have a smaller diameter.

Does anyone have experience with rattan staffs, and is it ok just to start sanding off the outer bamboo-like surface? I do like the staff just the way it is, so if this is risky, I'll just leave it alone and get another one when I'm ready. Also, I did look at the more finished staffs with spiral patterns burned into the entire length, but they also had some carvings on each end, and I wasn't sure about how that would work with all the sliding and hand changing I see in class. Thanks in advance.

Ben Gash
12-04-2003, 06:52 PM
If you like the staff then stick with it. These things are purely down to taste and preference. For example my Sifu likes to use lighter staffs than I do.

SanSoo Student
12-04-2003, 08:31 PM
And if its a weapon your going to practice with, the staff is going to get beaten around anyways. A nice weapon is only used for show.

Shaolinlueb
12-04-2003, 10:08 PM
hey sansoo student, since you cant recieve pms or email, hit me up in an email or on aim. i would like to talk some sansoo.

moeman
12-04-2003, 10:31 PM
Thanks for the responses. Yes, I'll keep my staff just the way it is. I worked out with a finished staff in class tonight and decided I'm not good enough yet to appreciate any difference.

Thundermudd
12-05-2003, 06:32 AM
From my experience - I have found that I like the unfinished staff better - especially for training purposes.