PDA

View Full Version : Fa Jing?

Youngmantis
12-06-2003, 08:15 PM
Hi all, i was wondering does Jing apply only to tai chi or is it applied to all kung fu?

harkfu
12-06-2003, 11:07 PM
The answer is yes and no.Yes, if you know how and no, if you do not.
There are direct and indirect was of applying ging.The direct ways are usually achieved earlier.

Young Mantis
12-07-2003, 12:15 PM
Ym,

The development of ging is one of the primary goals for any TCMA although each style or even school has it's own way of fa ging. It is important to learn the correct way for your given style.

YM

Youngmantis
12-07-2003, 02:02 PM
ok well here is another question related, is it true that you can only issue jing in a relaxed state?

Battosai
12-07-2003, 06:08 PM
Hey

I am far from an expert
but
from the way i understand things
your body does need to be relaxed to produce fajing
not like limp noodle relaxed
but it was explained to me like this
fajing is a strike where your whole body issues to force
the whole body and all the musclesworking together as one
now comes the importance of relaxation
is for the antagonistic muscle groups
(kinda like bicep is antagonistic to the tricep)
if the antagonistic muscles are tense
they will resist the movement
and thus inhibit the body from unleashing all its force
basically you are fighting your own muscles if you arent relaxed
using more energy because the muscles are fighting each other and decreasing the power of the strike
which aint easy
to be relaxed
when someones coming at ya full steam :D

hope that helped
scott

BaldMonk
12-07-2003, 09:04 PM
YoungMantis,

Battosai gave a pretty good explanation. The only thing I would add is that the muscles are relaxed and the energy comes not from muscular force but internal organs. The chinese term for this state of relaxation is 'Song' (sp).

give me a call and we'll talk

Baldy

Young Mantis
12-07-2003, 10:06 PM