PDA

View Full Version : how do you build confidence?

Dragon Fist
07-22-2000, 01:07 AM
Ive been learning kung fu for about 3 years and getting quite good ,I think.But when it comes to using it out side in defence i lose all my confidence.

Sihing73
07-23-2000, 08:56 PM
Dragonfist,

Confidence is somehting to be gained by being exposed to the things you want confidence in. In other words if you want confidence that your techniques will work for real then you must GRADUALLY learn to apply them in increasingly difficult situations. Once you are comfortable with the basic application then you must start having your opponent resist and try to get past your application. Do this slowly and in a learning not competive manner. Look for the weaknesses in your application and then work to close those holes. Continue to keep working until you are able to apply your techniques full force against a resisting opponent. This is one step.

The other step is to use visualization to SEE yorself performing the techniques successfully. You should see yourself in many different situations and being able to complete the movement each and every time. Try to visualize situations of increasing difficulty but always win. Over time you will develope the confidence that your techniques will work.

Please, keep in mind this is a short answer. There are many facets involved. You must have both the physical techniques and understanding of the concepts which go along with those techniques. In addition you must have the mental assurance that what you are doing will work.

Good luck. You should speak to your Sihings and Sifu and follow any suggestions they have.

Peace,

Dave

Gojira
07-24-2000, 06:43 AM
Sehing73,
That was probably the best worded post I have seen here on that subject.
A old school bow to you sir.

------------------
If you have nothing to do, don't do it here!

thekuntawman
07-24-2000, 12:15 PM
sihing73 your answer ia very thoughtful and i agree all the way.