PDA

View Full Version : Punched a tai chi guy in the stomache as hard as I could

KungFuGuy!
12-08-2003, 08:20 PM
Figured I'd lead with that to get attention.
I just started learning from a taoist tai chi instructor, and it's **** good stuff. I asked him why taoist style has such a bad reputation, and he said because most of the other teachers have no idea what they're doing.
I can tell you for a fact that this guy knows his stuff. He had me punch him as hard as I could. I was a little worried that I'd hurt him, as I know I can punch pretty hard, but it had no effect. I actually felt what I believe was the energy from my punch go back up my arm.
Then I asked him about the one inch punch. I've done some JKD, and their version of the punch involves using a long list of muscles in rapid succession. He told me it was just one movement of the spine. I asked him to demonstrate on me, so he then told me to hold a rubber ball to my chest, asked me if I was ready, then seemingly tapped the ball, sending all 185 lbs of me stumbling back about 12 feet even though I thought I was rooted.
He regularly has students hit him and does various demonstrations on willing students to solidify whatever point he's making in the lesson, it's very amazing to watch.
I've done about 6 months of (crappy) tai chi in the past, but I've never been shown anything like this. I'm excited to finally learn the good stuff :D

QuaiJohnCain
12-08-2003, 08:47 PM
Yup, you found it.

Brithlor
12-08-2003, 10:27 PM
It's not a SUPER huge feat to be able to take punches to the gut... That can be done without Tai Chi training.

But the rubber ball inch punch sounds very impressive, and I'm glad you found a great teacher :).

BTW, ask him if you can punch him as hard as you can in the face :).

QuaiJohnCain
12-08-2003, 10:37 PM
Originally posted by Brithlor
It's not a SUPER huge feat to be able to take punches to the gut... That can be done without Tai Chi training.

How about a sledgehammer, then? :D

Brithlor