PDA

View Full Version : Numb feet and legs during meditation

jbmmaster
12-15-2003, 06:45 PM
Everytime I meditate (cross legged) my feet and legs get all numb 30 minutes in. I am new to meditation and i was wondering if this is a common thing for a person to go through when they begin meditating? and if this is what can i do to help get rid of this problem?

Thank you

QuaiJohnCain
12-16-2003, 10:44 AM
Yes. Bare with it, it goes away eventually.

Originally posted by jbmmaster
Everytime I meditate (cross legged) my feet and legs get all numb 30 minutes in. I am new to meditation and i was wondering if this is a common thing for a person to go through when they begin meditating? and if this is what can i do to help get rid of this problem?

Thank you

backbreaker
12-16-2003, 12:51 PM
I've found that when I practce qigong consistently over several weeks I don't lose my circulation as easy. When I sleep I will be able to put my arm underneath the pillow for extra support and sleep on my arm the whole night without my arm going numb. If however , I don't practice consistently for a few weeks and I try sleeping on my arm I will wake up with a very numb arm with bad pins and needles . This must be due to the decrease in the flow of qi and blood from not training. When you train consistently you can feel the flow of blood pulsating through you , as well as qi sensations which make you feel really good and vitalised. 30 minutes of meditation is a really good start especially if you can basically keep your mind focused and empty the whole time

backbreaker
12-17-2003, 03:02 PM
Also try patting , or lightly slapping along your meridians , like the arms and legs and body( front, back , and sides ) after the practice

looking_up
12-18-2003, 08:41 AM
Excellent advice, backbreaker!

jbmmaster
12-18-2003, 07:43 PM
backbreaker: Thanks for the advice I find that very helpful.

QuaiJohnCain: Thanks for your encouragment I will stick to it.

l@zylee
12-19-2003, 04:43 AM