PDA

View Full Version : Wing Chun IS training for combat

Keng Geng
01-06-2004, 03:56 PM
If it's not, then you're simply not doing Wing Chun. There are no drills/exercises that train you for combat. Wing Chun trains you for combat. Wing Chun is combat. If you need to add drills to your Wing Chun to train you for combat, the base of what you have learned is either misunderstood or incomplete.

"Training for combat" on a Wing Chun forum = redundancy.

Gangsterfist
01-06-2004, 04:00 PM
I agree, but also disagree. Wing Chun is also an art. There are many benefits from kung fu, self defense and fighting are the basics of what you gain if you ask me.

canglong
01-08-2004, 08:21 AM
if I was a newbie to the style, based on the sentiments of many WC practioners, I would think that realistic training was outside of the boundaries for what constitutes as "wing chun" Why?

reneritchie
01-08-2004, 10:24 AM
WCK != Combat

WCK == a systematic and progressive method for improving certain types of combat skill.

KingMonkey
01-08-2004, 10:53 AM
Broadly speaking I happen to agree with the sentiment that WC is (or should be) training for combat.
But after this you lose me a little.

There are no drills/exercises that train you for combat. Wing Chun trains you for combat
Are you saying your WC training consists of no drills or exercises ?
Please elaborate.

Keng Geng
01-08-2004, 10:46 PM
Originally posted by KingMonkey
Are you saying your WC training consists of no drills or exercises? No, I'm simply saying that the notion of practising "combat drills" and "training for combat" with respect to WC is a redundancy. Yes, WC has drills and exercises, but everything in Wing Chun trains you for combat.

Phil Redmond
01-08-2004, 11:18 PM
Oxford dictionary. (The Queens English) ;)
DRILL n.- thorough training esp. by repetition, recognized procedure.
EXERCISE n. "practice" of an ability
PRACTISE n. do repeatedly as an exercise to improve a skill (note the British spelling of this word)