PDA

View Full Version : Ving Tsung/ Wing Chun - What is it?

mossman
01-10-2004, 09:32 PM
I am new to Wing Chun and I am trying to decide if I want to take lessons. First - Is Ving Tsung the same thing?

1.What is Wing Chun? Is it like karate?

2. Can someone give me a website with info?

3. How long does it take to get good at this art and use it effectivily in a fight?

Just tell me something about it. Thanks

Brithlor
01-11-2004, 01:34 AM
Go to www.wingchunkwoon.com ... it has a lot of information on a particular style of Wing Chun.

BTW, can you find out which lineage it is? Just ask your potential teacher what lineage he is in...

mossman
01-11-2004, 07:44 AM
Here are the websites of my two different choices:

1 - http://www.vingtsuncenter.com/ourschool.html

2 - http://www.wingchun-sf.com/richmond/rc-bio.htm

So whats the difference here?

foolinthedeck
01-11-2004, 08:09 AM
those two websites are really very different.
the ving tsun site makes a big deal about where they are located - 4 pictures of the 'store front'!!
the wing chun site makes a big deal about lineage.

on that immediate basis i with all my own bias would go for the wing chun one.

but visit both, watch, participate, talk, mention the other school and get their opinions on each other.

mossman
01-11-2004, 08:32 AM
So the styles are both "Wing Chun" but are really different?

kj
01-11-2004, 09:42 AM
Originally posted by mossman
I am new to Wing Chun and I am trying to decide if I want to take lessons. First - Is Ving Tsung the same thing?

1.What is Wing Chun? Is it like karate?

Wing Chun, in and of itself, is quite different from most forms of karate in many respects. It is, however and IME, sometimes taught in a manner that strongly resembles popular karate.

Wing Chun varies as much in practice and application as its exponents do. While we may each have a strong conception of what Wing Chun is and is not, I am no longer convinced that we all share a common vision of it even in the abstract.