PDA

View Full Version : Advice for Shaolin Longfist

heelkick
01-14-2004, 11:54 PM
Hello and I'm new to the forum. I need some advice for this school that teaches longfist. My background is in kenpo but I wanted to learn kung fu so I made the switch. It seems that this school teaches in a way that I'm not used to or maybe they're not giving good instruction? That's where I can use some good advice.

The way things work here is that when you are a beginner, you are set aside from the rest of the class and taught the basics like kicks, punches so on and so forth. That's cool because there is slightly different mechanics with longfist as opposed to kenpo anyway. But after learning my first form which is called First Fist, I think I realized that after you start learning forms you are no longer pulled aside for instruction but you must then sit and observe and learn that way. In other words it appears that you learn your basic forms, present the forms in front of the class, then go sit down and watch the higher sash students do their forms, then you sit and watch as I mentioned before. From what I've seen no one is ever pulled to the side and actually taught.

How can you really learn this way? Is this the way CMA schools work or is this the correct way longfist is supposed to be taught?

mickey
01-15-2004, 03:57 AM
Hello heelkick,

Interesting name for a Kenpo man. You have highlighted three needs:

1- The need to have your growth fostered with proper instruction.

2- The need to have the chance to develop those techniques learned from those lessons.

3- The need to be able to do the aforementioned during class time.

There is no wrong committed by asking for this. You can also let them know that you are seriously interested by asking if there is an accelerated program. If your needs are not accomodated, you can always move on.

In future, take the time to observe the school you plan to join. Ask questions beforehand. It can save you time, money, and heartache.