PDA

View Full Version : attn vegetarians: your sex life may suffer

SevenStar
01-15-2004, 10:46 PM
I read something yesterday that said soy consumption can lead to erectile disfunction, among other things.

Cheese Dog
01-15-2004, 10:56 PM
I have been hearing for a couple of years now that too much soy can cause estrogenic effects. Don't know if it's true or not.

mickey
01-16-2004, 07:23 AM
Greetings,

Soy may also protect against prostate cancer.

mickey

Ford Prefect
01-16-2004, 07:37 AM
Correct. There have been numerous studies that show that consuming a lot of soy will supress testosterone and boost estrogen levels in men. Some even theorize that the reason why soy can reduce risk of heart attack and prostate cancer is for this very reason since both are male/testosterone-related problems. Soy in young boys can cause growth and development issues since it supresses testosterone, which is what turns boys into men (for simplicity's sake). Not something to be taken lightly.

mickey
01-16-2004, 08:20 AM
Ford Prefect,

Couldn't soy in small amounts act as an trigger for the body to produce more testosterone to maintain hormonal balance? I think this would be better than taking steroids.

mickey

Ford Prefect
01-16-2004, 08:37 AM
No.

Serpent
01-18-2004, 04:08 PM
So what's an overdose of soy then? For example, a lot of guys would replace milk with soy milk (lactose intolerant, etc.) How much effect would this have? Let's say you have soy milk on your breakfast cereal and one or two drinks of tea or coffee a day with soy milk in them - I guess that's a fairly normal usage. Would this be enough to cause problems?

joedoe
01-18-2004, 07:12 PM
I use soy milk on my cereal in the morning. So far I have not noticed any problems :D

Spark
01-19-2004, 09:22 AM
I've been drinking Soy for five years and all I know is that the ladies sure haven't complained about it IFYOUKNOWWHATI'MSAYINAWWYEAH

Ford Prefect
01-19-2004, 09:56 AM