PDA

View Full Version : OT: supplements for training

Strangelove
12-19-2000, 04:57 AM
I am doing wing chun 2 times a week plus I work out at the gym 3 times a week. I was wondering if anyone here had any experience with supplements such as Ripped fuel [stuff with Mua ha "ephedrine"].

I am curious because I wish I could do more at the gym and this stuff is going to help me do more reps and sets and having a very low bodyfat% would really help me in wing chun.

Thanks

Taijimantis
12-19-2000, 07:22 AM
I would steer away from ma hua.

If you are looking to build an impressive physique, my reccomendation is dont. Train specific for what you do, then what you need will be there. I studied strength training for a while in college and my brother in law is a personal trainer and CEO of a wellness company. I have talked with him about these things often enough.

Everything has its side effects, many are not so good, and it all depends on the individual's body chemistry.

I am 100% natural and have succeeded in reaching my goals with little help from outside sources. Proper nutrition is much more important than supplimenting or trying to increase metabolic rate with stimulants.

I used ma hua for a while with no ill effects and then one day my heart felt like it was going to burst and I couldnt slow down. They went into the trash that night. There is even new reports of seizure and neuro disfunction with this compound. The fact is too many people just use these substances improperly.

My reccomendation is to get a lot of protein (I eat no meat so I use nuts, seeds, soy, whey etc.) for muscle growth, eat plenty of veggies, eliminate processed sugar and flours, drink a ton of water, and if you need a little stimulation, green tea or ginger tea works well. Then plenty of cardio work in addition to your Kung Fu training, running or cycling (my favorite jumping rope with weighted rope) and so on to burn the fat.