PDA

View Full Version : The effects of tea on the Shaolin Student.

Friendless Tool
01-20-2004, 06:27 PM
First off id like to say hello to everyone out there. I am knew to the forums, and look forward to discussing and further expanding my knowledge of Shaolin. I have been studying for about 4 months now and i love every bit of it. Im 16 and im a soph in high school.

Now on to the discussion!

Im an avid tea drinker. My favorite especially is Green tea. I found out that when i drink a cup or two 1-3 hours before i go to Shaolin, i have more energy and my stamina increases greatly. I dont get as tired during the warm up and kicking exercises and my focus as well as over all performance is much better. Does anyone know why this happens? Is it just the caffine in the tea?
Are there any other kinds of tea out there that could perhaps provide the same qualities?

also, im looking for a good tea that i can relax to after a rough class or stressful day. Jasmine is very enjoyable, but im open to different kinds.

Thanks for your time.

-Joe

Shaolinlueb
01-21-2004, 08:48 AM
i usually drink water. but tea is good. i cant drink too much of it. nothing wrong with 1 beer every now and then. but not after class

Qigong
01-21-2004, 10:04 AM
i drink a cup of green tea every morning before school...and every night after dinner. it calms me down, makes me feel situated. it gives me energy, but at the same time calms me down. and if i have class, i drink a smaller cup so it isnt in my stomach when im doing drills. but green tea cures bad breath, and reduces the chances of a lot of diseases...keep drinking tea!

GeneChing
01-21-2004, 11:07 AM
I drink tea almost every day. Many of the monks cultivate tea as a buddhist practice. Tea is good. BTW, did you see this - Shaolin Tea (http://store.yahoo.com/martialartsmart/70600.html) - it doesn't look like we are going to continue to carry Shaolin tea, so if you're not planning on going to Shaolin, this maybe your last chance.