PDA

View Full Version : aliveness revisited

IRONMONK
01-22-2004, 06:14 AM
This was posted on another forum:

"Hi Bk (and the rest of you),

I thought I'd lend another voice to the discussion. I've been training the martial arts for many years, but only started attending SBG gatherings and training with their methodologies in the past 3 years or so. So I've seen both sides of the coin. While I can see why you might have some of the ideas you currently hold about Aliveness and how SBGers train, my own experience with it has shown it to be very different.

One definition of Aliveness could be "training with a resisiting opponent all the time." But it's of vital importance to specify that it must be a PROGRESSIVELY resisting opponent. If a beginner is learning a technique and their partner is resisiting 100% from the get go, that beginner will never learn the technique and at best will come close by having to apply a lot of strength, speed, and other physical attributes. Their partner should begin by giving almost no resistance; as the beginner gets the technique down, the partner should slowly begin to give them more trouble. Gradually, the partner builds them up to the point where they are still having success when near 100% resistance is offered. It's common sense, and most people do it in some aspects of their training. But I think it's rare for people to apply it in ALL aspects of their training.

Addressing your specific points: