PDA

View Full Version : traditional yang taiji

stimulant
02-17-2004, 09:35 AM
just wondering if anyone here actually knows the original 85 movement long form of Yang style?

backbreaker
02-17-2004, 03:38 PM
I think the Tcoung ta tchen lineage might be a good candidate for Old Yang style. I studied with an instuctor of Tchoung's for 11 years ( 8 to 19) and learned mant things, but I learned cheng man ching taichi form instead of the old long form. I learnded kinlin( I think kunlun) sword though, two person sets, push hands, and fa jin. If someone here knows Guang Ping style that style bears alot of resemblance to Chen style.

http://www.dotaichi.com/tchoung.htm

http://www.selfgrowth.com/articles/Kurland3.html

http://www.wuji.com/tchoung.htm

http://www.northwesttaichichuan.org/Family%20Tree%20Tchoung%20Style%202.HTML

GLW
02-17-2004, 04:26 PM
The counting of the routine as 85 Postures is typically done when referring to the routine as handed down by Yang Chengfu.

Since he reputedly reorganized and eliminated some duplicate movements and such, any other versions would probably be counted as more than 85 postures.

Walter Joyce
02-18-2004, 04:46 AM
I thought the Yang Chengfu was the 108 routine?

stimulant
02-18-2004, 05:39 AM
WJ I agree with you

Brad
02-18-2004, 06:42 AM
The Yang Cheng Fu 108 routine is often counted as 85 in China.

stimulant
02-18-2004, 06:45 AM
so that would explain it then!!!

:D

although I dont do tai chi (i'm a mizong quan man personally) my shifu also teaches traditonal yang style, and being form china i guess thats why its 85 movements!

count
02-18-2004, 08:31 AM
108 can be counted as 85 or 88. Sequences like grasp the sparrows tail can be counted as 1 or 4. Ward off, roll back, press, and push. Some people discount some movements as transitional but are clearly applications. Does it matter anyway how you count? There is only one Tai Chi, just different expressions. List the movements of your form that are different?

Walter Joyce