PDA

View Full Version : Mantis and Bagua

blackmantis
02-24-2004, 11:51 AM
Hello Everyone,

I am a 15 year old who has been learning northern mantis for quite some time, but have recently heard of the wonders of bagua! The style of mantis I am learning seems to be quite internal compared to most mantis styles, but almost certainly nothing like bagua.

What are the main differences between bagua and mantis? Would it be possible to learn them both at the same time? Do you have any information at all that could be useful?

Many thanks,

S

Ray Pina
02-24-2004, 12:30 PM
I studied Southern Mantis quite heavily (5 days a week) for three years. Though I think this differs from Northern. We only did low kicks and never used a mantis claw. All closed fists and my teacher barrowed and modified a lot of Hung Gar elements as well, mostly earth over hand hammer blows.

Anyway, I now study under a master of Hsing-I and Ba Gua. The differences on one hand are huge, right down to mindset. On another hand, some techniques look similiar but are used differently.

Example, an over head block movement can be used differently by different styles. My internal teacher showed me how it's not an overhead block and it's not a reverse punch ... it's both at the same time while being fully neither. The fist turns out to strike (NOT FROM CHAMBER!!!!) while the elbow raises to deflect.

Not a new movement but a new way of using and seeing the movement. This is what internal has done. Power, the power now comes effortlessly. It's built in the design, you don't have to add it.

If you find a good teacher follow him. Study both if you can. You may find they compliment each other. You may find one makes the other mute. Only one way to find out. Good luck.

RAF
02-24-2004, 12:31 PM