PDA

View Full Version : What's with Martial Arts Magazines these days?

Kymus
03-15-2004, 08:51 PM
The only Martial Arts mag I buy, is Kung Fu Tai Chi (which I have a 2 year subscription to, you just had to throw in that shirt, didn't you Gene?). It's seemd to me, that as far as Kung Fu and Martial Arts in-general mags go, there's next to no good material out there. These "Martial Arts" magazines, like Black Belt, which claim to cover the Martial Arts as a whole, seem to really only cover 95% karate, 4% Kung Fu, and 1% other. We'll take this month's mag of Classical Fighting Arts (see my other post). While it does have some good articles, all but 1 relate to Karate. Looking at their past covers, it seems that each one has a Karateka on it. I don't get it. Is it too hard to find decent material on these other arts? I would be thrilled if I could find a MMA (i'm more-so reffering to the word here, not the "Mixed Martial Art" "style(s)" magazine that doesn't fill it's pages with 90% Karate. I don't have anything against Karate, I really don't. I prefer Kung Fu, but I'd still read something on Karate. It's just annoying that so many magazines cater specifically to Karate and nothing else. Even if it were the other way around, I'd still find it odd that there is a majority in something that is supposed to be full of different arts. Does anyone else seem to have this problem/gripe? Or am I just crazy?

rogue
03-15-2004, 09:16 PM
CFA/DT is mostly a karate magazine, it's also my favorite. Try JAMA, it's pricey and isn't monthly but it articles are usually very good.

Black Belt is a marketing catalogue.

PHILBERT
03-15-2004, 09:42 PM
No, no, 95% Karate doesn't fit it. More like 60% Karate/TKD, 35% MMA, and 5% other. On occasion a good article appears, then I just read it and toss it back on the shelf.

Kymus
03-15-2004, 09:53 PM
Originally posted by rogue