PDA

View Full Version : how much is the value of...

David Jamieson
03-19-2004, 12:40 PM
beginning your training at say or 7 years old?

Here's why I ask.

I started learning martial arts when i was a kid too, but they didn't have any meaning for me til i got beat in a fight at about 15 years old.

so, that training as a kid sure didn't do much for me obviously even though it was totally valid training.

but at virtually every site i go to, there is a bio page saying "so and so begantraining at 6 or 7 or 8 years old"

I don't see any value in this personally.

now, what i do consider good is:

so and so has brought x amount of students to instructor level in the x amount of years they have been teaching in their own school and a fight record doesn't hurt at all either.

anybody get where i'm coming from? i don't get the whole "done it all my life therefore i must be good" stance.

in fighting and in martial arts it seems like it's more of a question of what have you done lately.

not putting down any of the old timers, but bringing someone else to a level of proficiency and hard proof of your skill such as this, or your fight record or your students fight record would seem to have much more value that is if you are going to promote yourself through print or a website.

especially these days in this put up or shut up era of the new martial arts.

after all, your doctor didn't start training when he was 5 did he? and we know that surgery takes more skill tahn a heckofalotta things and does also become a lifelong practice.

is it just me, or does anyone else think this phrasology is a bit tired?

cheers:D

MasterKiller
03-19-2004, 12:59 PM