PDA

View Full Version : Thread was CLOSED...

YinYangDagger
03-25-2004, 06:05 PM
...and I wanted to rant about MY experience with Shaolin-do!

As a FORMER SD student, I'm glad to be out of the "mess". I left for a variety of reasons, mostly because I was tired of all the lies given to me by the "upper ranks". I'll send you this, I'll do this for you, I'll do that. One thing I can't stand is for someone to promise to do something, repeatedly, and totally blow you off. A couple of you are on the board here and know what I'm speaking about. There's definitely NO honor among the Shaolin-do ranks.

Shaolin-do is NOT Shaolin, folks, it's a form of karate from somewhere. Either that or the BIGGEST scam in martial arts today. I didn't get too far in the ranks, nor did I want to. I basically wasted an entire year at the school I was at.

During one performance of a Pakua knife form performed by Sin The, he left out huge sections of the form. I heard other people talking about it (they had learned the form also), and you know what the response was? "He's the Grandmaster, he can do that if he wants". :rolleyes:

Another night at the DOJO (?) we were all sparring and a Black Belt decided to throw in knives (the rubber kind). I think his plan was to "ooh and ahh" the lower belts by his prowess with defending against the blade. He did just that, until it was my turn. I must have planted the blade into his chest about 5 times before he decided "OK, that's it for sparring tonight." Thanks Marine Corps.

I could go on and on, about VERY poor testing standards, learning material a DAY before you tested with it for your next belt rank, etc. But I won't. I'm glad I'm out of it, and now I can focus on learning something REAL.

David Jamieson
03-25-2004, 06:07 PM
and your point being?

:D

Losttrak
03-25-2004, 06:09 PM
"Thanks Marine Corps."

Lol. Yeah, SD is but a carbon copy of every other over-hyped, trailer-part variety martial arts school. Bah

David Jamieson
03-25-2004, 06:13 PM