PDA

View Full Version : Dai Nim Tao

PQS
03-26-2004, 07:29 AM
Can anyone help please, what is Dai Nim Tao ? is it a form? or a sub form?
Many Thanks
Peter

Midnight
03-26-2004, 08:00 AM
I have no personal knowledge of this, however I did find this online which may help.

http://www.wingchunkuen.com/what/forms/dainimtao.html

Jim Roselando
03-26-2004, 08:50 AM
Hello,

Dai Lin Tau (Big First Training) (Not "Nim") is the second section of basics Leung Jan Sifu kept from his original Siu Lin Tau (Little First Training) form to teach his Koo Lo pupils. It contains 3 sections with 3 cycles and also includes Som Bai Fut and Sae Mun Bai Jee.

The term you are refering to as Dai Nim Tau (Big Idea) is most likely the Lee Shing version of the Koo Lo set as preserved by his pupils. Joseph Lee has an article that briefly talks about this set.

Hope this helps!

CFT
03-26-2004, 10:07 AM
I don't want to start off another lineage war or anything, but just genuinely curious .....

What extra benefit does practicing Dai Lin(Nim) Tau confer on the practitioner? What attributes are you training for (to paraphrase Ernie)?

Are the movements, etc. the same as Siu Lin(Nim) Tau but choreographed differently?

[~T~]G
03-26-2004, 11:24 AM
Siu Nim Tao is included in Dai Nim Tao as a single set (DNT has 12 sets). This set contains something similar to the first section of the SNT, where the fook sau moves horizontally outwards from the chest.

The other 11 sets has alot of movements different to Hong Kong/Yip Man Wing Chun

Jim Roselando
03-26-2004, 11:30 AM
Hello,

I don't want to start off another lineage war or anything, but just genuinely curious .....

No problem as this info. is pretty common. There really is nothing to battle over!

What extra benefit does practicing Dai Lin(Nim) Tau confer on the practitioner? What attributes are you training for (to paraphrase Ernie)?