PDA

View Full Version : kettlebells and neglected muscle groups

rubthebuddha
03-29-2004, 11:41 AM
i got my copy of RKC a couple weeks ago, and after navigating through an ill-timed wrist injury (got it the night before the dvd arrived :mad: ), i've done just about all the goodness on rkc, i'm wondering about it neglecting some muscle groups, as well as some other points. keep in mind that i'm doing all this with a 30-lb. dumbbell (wasn't gonna fork out the cash for a kb unless i felt the exercises themselves were worth it).

1. certain areas like the chest, arms and lower legs are largely neglected.
2. range of motion on most the cleans, swings, etc. aren't doing squat (no pun intended) for my legs, as i'm not bending any more than maybe 30 degrees at the knee.

again, remember i'm doing this with a 30-lb dummy, which is just enough to be fun (30-lbs on my first side presses and windmills felt really nice), and i know i'm just getting into this. also, i've only seen rkc, so i'm sure other vids and such have a ton more exercises.

for those in the know, feel free to suggest what made your kb training better, or point out when i'm doing something entirely wrong. i have a gut feeling kbs are what i want to focus on, but i don't want progress on other muscles to go by the wayside.

Ford Prefect
03-29-2004, 11:53 AM
Hey Rub,

It is pretty hard to hit the chest with "KB exercises", so you could always just do flies on a bench or flat on the ground. For your lower legs, doing snatches barbell-oly style will hit them pretty decently and even more so since you can go for so long since it's easier bailing out of a KB snatch than a BB snatch. I like to strip set front squats with calve raises, jump shrugs, and even just heel raises.

For the quads, you could front squats and overhead squats. It's not perfect and it's not the same as barbell squatting but it's good enough if fitness is your concern and not squat poundages.

Suntzu
03-29-2004, 12:00 PM