PDA

View Full Version : Long Fist?

Starchaser107
04-02-2004, 12:36 AM
This might seem like a stupid question,
but are nothern shaolin sets such as "red fist" for arguements sake considered under the category "long fist"?
thanks in advance.

bodhitree
04-02-2004, 06:08 AM
from what I know yes, but I am no expert.

adelbrecht10
04-20-2004, 10:49 AM
This might be a stupid question too, but how would a long fist exponent handle close range fighting? Would he or she just avoid close range encounters?

MasterKiller
04-20-2004, 11:04 AM
Originally posted by adelbrecht10
This might be a stupid question too, but how would a long fist exponent handle close range fighting? Would he or she just avoid close range encounters? Ideally, you set up for a throw or lock.

Shaolinlueb
04-21-2004, 12:21 PM
Originally posted by MasterKiller
Ideally, you set up for a throw or lock.

like in northern eagel claw? :D

norther practitioner
04-21-2004, 02:32 PM
Actually, most northern stuff I've seen has a lot of it.

stimulant
04-27-2004, 12:52 PM
the term longfist can be misleading.

Many longfist styles train very hard on the kicks...but the forms and applications are maybe 90% hands with a huge chunk of that being close range to.

MasterKiller
04-27-2004, 01:21 PM
Originally posted by stimulant
the term longfist can be misleading.

Many longfist styles train very hard on the kicks...but the forms and applications are maybe 90% hands with a huge chunk of that being close range to. Longfist just means you prefer to fight to the length of your extremities (legs and arms), not that you prefer punching over kicking; Chang Chuan being no different than Mizong Chuan, Shaolin Chuan, Lohan Chuan, etc..... fist methods.

stimulant
04-27-2004, 01:33 PM
Originally posted by MasterKiller