PDA

View Full Version : kung fu and career

adelbrecht10
04-03-2004, 11:03 AM
Hi everyone, I'm new here. Are there a lot of accomplished kung fu practitioners who also have intense careers not related to martial arts? What I mean is people who are doctors, lawyers, professors etc. but still find the time for martial arts. In these modern times, it seems so hard to find a lot of time to practice unless your career is somehow related to martial arts.

SevenStar
04-03-2004, 12:07 PM
I'm a web developer and train about 15 hours a week, sometimes more.

stubbs
04-03-2004, 12:23 PM
im a personnel advisor in local government 37 hours of the week. im going to re-apply for the police as soon as the eyesight standards change in october (failed on the eyesight tests last year).

i study about 10 - 16 hours a week for a part time degree (can't afford uni at the mo)

i train about 8 - 10 hours a week. probably be more in the summer as i hope to start running in the mornings.
________
VAAAPP VAPORIZER (http://essentialvaaappvaporizer.com)

MasterKiller
04-03-2004, 04:02 PM
Web site admin, used to train 20+ hours a week until we had a baby. Right now I'm lucky to get 10 hours/week.

Oso
04-03-2004, 04:52 PM
Facilities Manager

Teach part time 6-8 hours a week.

personal training time 2-8 hours a week.

eventual goal to quit the real world by the time I'm 40 and teach full time. (3 years to go)

SPJ
04-03-2004, 09:54 PM
Not true.

Full time veterinarian in Orange County.

I practice 1-2 hours per day. On the weekends, I practice 4-6 hours.

Qi Gong and Tai Ji in the morning.

Long Boxing or hard arts at nite.

I also take time to compile my notes into books.

Most of my teachers passed away in 1990's. I still keep a training schedule and Zazen every day like a monk.

stubbs
04-04-2004, 03:44 AM
whats a Zazen?
________
Bdsm movies (http://www.****tube.com/categories/8/bdsm/videos/1)

SPJ
04-04-2004, 07:00 AM
Sorry! I mean sit for meditation.