PDA

View Full Version : Weird bjj question

IronFist
04-03-2004, 05:41 PM
Alright, I was just grappling with my friend. I know I'm a total noob, but how do I avoid this?

I was in his guard, and he tapped me out by trapping both of my hands and squeezing my ribs just by squeezing his legs together. It hurt like hell so I had to tap out. wtf? I didn't think that was supposed to work. How do you counter someone crushing you like that? He's got really strong hip adductors. heh.

Apparently he has good pain tolerance in his inner thighs, too, cuz another time I was jamming both elbows in there and he's still squeezing into me like above.

Anyway, do I just suck royally, or how do you avoid/escape from someone doing that?

edit - He's a total noob and has no grappling experience before today. And yes, that was the only time I got tapped out. Now, the other thing I was going to ask was, I'm 5'9", 162lbs, 9%bf. He is 6'4", 190lbs, and about 9%bf, too. Is his 5" height advantage and 28lb weight advantage considered a big advantage in the fighting world? Like for the most part I had no trouble handling him (except for when I'm being crushed by his legs), but even tho I have more skill (I've had like 2 months of lessons only), should his size advantage give me trouble?

edit 2 - I changed the subject line, which you can see above, but it didn't change on the main forum. Why is that?

SevenStar
04-03-2004, 06:15 PM
His size is definitely an advantage, but won't guarantee a win. things in his favor are possibly reach and stronger strikes. He may be able to absorb more punishment also.

The scissor thing is just a nuissance....you shouldn't have tapped from that, just dealt with it - posture up, knee up his butt, angle off...basic guard pass. The thing about digging both of your elbows into his thighs is that he's got too much room to maneuver - you're not controlling his torso, allowing him to pivot, sit up, etc.

http://www.bjj.org/techniques/intheguard/guardpass1/