PDA

View Full Version : Beginning Chen

Ou Ji
04-14-2004, 11:32 AM
I've got some Yang style background with just a little Chen and a taste of Wu. I have the opportunity to get in on a low cost informal Chen class taught by an accupuncturist. Since it's informal I'm not sure about the level of detail or progression through any type of curriculum. I guess my question is what is the typical order of sets and material? Is Lao Jia the first set? I'm not sure how long this will last so how can I get the most out of a (possibly) short time?

backbreaker
04-14-2004, 01:07 PM
I certainly cannot speak for the Chen style, or every style or instuctor, but I can only tell you how I learned. I started out being taught seated torso dantien internal neigong, and 100 days reverse breathing and heng/ha breathing qigong with spiralling, fajin, and striking. And after that in a few days I was being taught the form and applications. One move a day. I asked my teacher about push hands and sparring, and that I wondered about doing mostly forms and applications, he told me I won't find this form just anywhere ( xin jia yi lu) and to respect it and practice everyday, at least 5 times a day would be good, you have to do it to be high level, and high level skill is what's important. I also had many years in Yang style , but others in the class did not, and the class was taught all together, no ranks, or seniority or any of that bs, the teacher was high level whoever you are.

backbreaker
04-14-2004, 04:03 PM