PDA

View Full Version : Vegetarian, supplements?

william
04-17-2004, 05:36 AM
Hey guys,

I'm a keen martial artist, but I also like to keep fit and lift weights. I seemed to have reached a sticking point! My firgure is pretty toned, but I am quite light. I am trying to put on a little weight and build some more muscle mass. This is proving fairly tricky on a veg diet. I'm thinking bout supplementing creatine or something just to get off my current plateau.

Any thoughts? Is this a good idea?

Advice would be much appriated,

Thanks

W

FooFighter
04-17-2004, 10:19 AM
Eat more tofu.

fa_jing
04-17-2004, 11:09 AM
Sure, if you want breastises:D

Try whey protein and/or cottage cheese, if that is acceptable to you. If you are "vegan," check out articles at www.mikemahler.com

mickey
04-18-2004, 04:31 AM
Hello William,

All you may need is to shift the emphasis in your training. The impression that I get is that you do a lot of cardio/endurance exercises. You may want to de-emphasize that and focus on strength development (heavy lifting) for a cycle (See literature on periodization or ask some of our more experienced members such as Ironfist and Ford Prefect for more info). Since you are a vegetarian I suspect that your cycle may be longer to get the gains that you want.

I would suggest that you simplify your weight training focus to four exercises: Squat, deadlift, benchpress, and pullups.

mickey

mickey
04-18-2004, 04:33 AM
I forgot one thing william.

STAY AWAY FROM CREATINE!!! IT IS NOT SAFE.

mickey

stubbs
04-18-2004, 04:56 AM
creatine isn't safe? why do you say that?
________
Pregnant Girl (http://www.****tube.com/categories/909/girl/videos/1)

FooFighter
04-18-2004, 08:34 AM
William: