PDA

View Full Version : Which martial art?

blackmantis
04-20-2004, 10:33 AM
Hello,

I am a 16 year old martial artist who has done Northern Praying Mantis for some time. I am interested in studying internal martial arts, but i do not know which style would suite me best.

I am good a kicks,
I am fairly good at seizing,
I have quite good stance,

I am not good at conditioning
and I do not have amazing breaking power

Which art would suit me?

S

doug maverick
04-20-2004, 11:30 AM
since your sixteen i would think tai chi would be to slow(well chen tyle is pretty fun) and ba gua too advanced(although you could start there) xing yi is ideal, although you have to sit in the santi for hours on end, and doiung repeated movements for months(or years in my case) it's the best intro to the internals you can find

norther practitioner
04-20-2004, 04:34 PM
What do you have available?

Midnight
04-20-2004, 08:26 PM
Well for the most part, internal martial arts aren't overly 'kick based'. And the majority of the kicking involved for internal arts dont really bring your foot up past waist level too much.

So if by "good at kicking" you refer to high kicks, jump kicks or roundhousing, then you'll either wanna search for an external martial art, or change your pace/fighting style.

Seizing on the other hand opens up alot of options for you in the internal arts. Seizing is a very key factor for the internal arts. In which case I'd recommend Chin Na. There are MANY others out there Jiu jitsu and judo are big ones too, however I personally train with Chin Na, so I'm more at liberty to recommend it.

goldendragon
04-30-2004, 12:47 PM
Midnight is right, you will not see much for high kichs in the internal arts. This however, is not a bad thing. When you kich high you open yourself up in multiple places no matter how good you are. This is why baguazhang, taiji, and xing yi do not have high kicks. kicking high in a fight is just not too smart.