PDA

View Full Version : Fitness........

harry_the_monk
06-12-2001, 01:36 PM
Hi there, I am really new to Wing Chun practising(one month.), but have been what I should really describe as 'arm-chair' in regards to MA as I have always read (and practised in my own buffoonery).
I was wondering, I have noticed that a lot of guys at some of the classes I visited while finding a kwoon looked severely out of shape.(not the one I am at now however)
Can/should I be practising a lot of personal cardio work(non-MA..i.e. running[although some may profess this to be a form of MA :)], cycling, swimming, etc.,)
Will this throw me off the path to which I am trying to reach through wing chun?(i.e. form, internal power, etc.) or should it be encouraged, or can anyone suggest some different cardio work which may assist my Wing Chun?
Thanks in advance :D

Anarcho
06-12-2001, 05:59 PM
I don't think it will hurt and it can definitely help. I don't know, maybe if you got really confused and started trying to swim along the floor of the kwoon instead of using the correct footwork, or something. ;) You can do Wing Chun related cardio stuff by just doing drills like I assume you do in your warm up, or getting a heavy bag or whatever...

Soup is good food.

Martial Joe
06-12-2001, 06:39 PM
There is nothing wrong with it...
...work out all you want,it wont hurt your wing chun.

Martial Joe
06-12-2001, 07:16 PM
And remember,dont think muscle strength,dont even try and do the movements in wing chun,just stay relaxed and do them.

[Censored]
06-12-2001, 07:53 PM
A "real fight" does not require much endurance, as it lasts less then a minute. I think some cardio work is a good thing, but don't expect it to improve your WC.

GLW
06-12-2001, 09:56 PM
A real fight...what is that...?

If you are talking ONLY self defence, then those are short...provided the other guy is not up to your level.