PDA

View Full Version : OT- got a job

fa_jing
05-14-2004, 12:33 PM
I was this close to going to Louisville, Kentucky, for a 6-9 month contract. Shaolin-Do'ers can relax, I will be right here in Chicago. :) The job is in "Greektown," off Halsted. Close enough to Union Station, but away from the hustle-bustle of downtown proper.

I'm starting Monday. I will have been out of work for 3 months. No unemployment, either, since I got fed up and left my last position on my own. I'm a Java developer. IT market here sucks. But I will get a payraise and work on newer technology, and be out of the bullsh!t consulting biz. That was my goal.

It's a startup company with a rapidly growing client base.

kungfuyou
05-14-2004, 01:11 PM
Congrats!!! IT field is still pretty rough all over, though starting to pick up slightly here in Cali!! Now only 500 resumes for one job instead of 900!!! :rolleyes:

Congrats again and good luck on the search!!

IronFist
05-14-2004, 01:13 PM
Congrats. I was out of college for 9 months before I got an IS job.

kungfuyou
05-14-2004, 01:23 PM
Yeah that seems about the norm IF. I was out all of 2003 of a job!! From Jan to Dec!!! Unemployment doesn't help shizz for the cost of living in Cali!!!

fa_jing
05-14-2004, 01:38 PM
yeah but I have over 7 years exp in IT....

Got rejected plenty of times, including twice for being "too coc.ky" -once for being "overqualified"

sometimes my experience just didn't match up, or I flubbed interview questions. That's easier to take in a way.

kungfuyou
05-14-2004, 02:08 PM
Originally posted by fa_jing
yeah but I have over 7 years exp in IT....

Got rejected plenty of times, including twice for being "too coc.ky" -once for being "overqualified"

sometimes my experience just didn't match up, or I flubbed interview questions. That's easier to take in a way.