PDA

View Full Version : Stance Stability?

JetKuen
05-19-2004, 01:34 PM
Hi all. I'm new to the martial arts and have been studying WingTsun for the last 9 months. I'm having a real hard time keeping my balance when I step in. Sometimes (very little) I get it right, but most of the time my front foot ends up pointing straight ahead instead of at an angle.

Usually when I step in and am met with force, my body sways left or right and most of the time I have to move a foot to keep my balance. I guess I see it as walking a balance beam with one foot behind the other. How are you supposed to keep your balance? I know, I know..."sink, inward pressure." Is that really all?

Besides the obvious of practice, what else can I do to improve?

old jong
05-19-2004, 02:04 PM
Hi JetKuen

Maybe you have both your feet in the same exact line?...Try to have some lateral distance between your feet.Many beginners step to widely.Use smaller steps. Some also do techniques while stepping. Try to step first (get in range) and then do your attack or technique. You will be able to use the ground better this way. You just have to work on this timing. ;)

What do you fly?...;)

Sihing73
05-19-2004, 02:15 PM
Hello,

If you are doing WT then you most likely are training to keep your feet in a direct line, a Bic Bo. While the spreading apart of the feet will provide better stability I don't think your WT instructors would appreciate the change. Of course if I am incorrect in my assumption, we know what that does to us ;) the feel free to try a wider angled stance.