PDA

View Full Version : Think I may have lung damage

Water Dragon
06-01-2004, 01:45 PM
I have a problem and it’s starting to scare me a little bit. For those of you who don’t know my history, I used to smoke cigarettes for long time. I started smoking at 12, quit just about 1 year ago (June 25, 2003) at age 29. That’s 17 years of about a pack a day.

When I quit last year, I started training again hardcore. I started Vale Tudo with a competitive fighter in early October. It’s now ten months later and I’m beginning to think I have done permanent damage to my lungs.

In Boxing, I’m good for about 3 3 minute rounds. In Muay Thai, I’m good for about 2 3 minute rounds. When we do Shuai Chiao type wrestling, I can go for about 4 3 minute rounds and in BJJ I can do 2 or 3 5 minute rounds.

When I tank, it’s not even that I feel very tired, I literally can’t breathe anymore. I will be GASPING for air, trying to swallow as much oxygen as possible.

I train hard. I rarely miss class. I train for 3-4 hours 3 times a week and try to get in 2 1 hour sessions on my own. I run 2-3 miles a few times a week and jump rope.

I want to know if there are any tests I can run or what I can realistically expect as a 30 year old going up against a bunch of people in their late teens to early 20’s. I figure that after a year, I should be doing better than I am. I want to go to a doctor to see what they see, but at the same time I’m apprehensive about it. What if I have emphysema or some other disease?

Chang Style Novice
06-01-2004, 01:51 PM
Then you'll die.

But you'll die anyway, just like the rest of us. You probably have fu(ked up your lung some, but I doubt you have emphysema. Still, see a doctor. Seeing a doctor won't make whatever conditions are affecting you any worse. The worst that can happen is you'll learn something.

Meat Shake
06-01-2004, 02:10 PM
You may have athsma. It sucks. Im used to it though...
Does it feel like your lungs are too small to breathe?