PDA

View Full Version : Northern and Southern Praying Mantis, a comparison

Sim Koning
06-15-2004, 12:29 PM
I’ve noticed there are a lot of threads on this board about southern praying mantis and how it compares or relates to northern. I’ve also noticed a few “which is better” threads as well, which kind of bugs me. So, I decided to write what I know about the subject, since I’ve had the benefit of learning a form from each system. But before I continue, I should probably introduce myself since I’m new.

I’m 22 yrs old and I started training in Jow Ga kung fu not long after I turned 18. I’ve also trained in Wing Chun off and on, but I guess I never really committed to it. My Sifu is Sam (Hing Fai) Chan. I’m currently ranked as an assistant instructor in my class.

Here is our school’s website http://chanskungfu.com, check out the video clips of the Jow gar system if you want to see parts of all our forms and weapons. The two mantis forms that I learned are also shown briefly in the clips. There is also a great San Shou fight clip.

Well on to the subject. My Sifu learned the bonk bo mantis form from the northern system, and flying mantis from the southern system. Though it is true that the northern style imitates the insect more “accurately”, the southern style imitates the insect to some extant as well. The major difference is that the southern style does not use the mantis claw, or diu sau. Instead, southern style uses a phoenix eye fist (ippon ken in karate). This fist technique is used like a mantis claw at times however, with a sharp hooking motion at the end of some of the strikes. This is done to dig the knuckle into the target, not unlike the way a mantis hooks its claws into the body of its prey.

The northern style seems to put more emphasis on grappling, with joints locks, trapping, sweeping and throwing techniques in the forms. Though there is plenty of chin na techniques southern style as well.