PDA

View Full Version : Chi Sao theory??

Hungfutkune
07-02-2004, 04:25 AM
Hello all!!

I just wanted to post a question to see if anybody out there could help me. I just started training Wing Chun in Shanghai. It's been great so far, my sifu seems very good but the only thing is, that he does not speak english nor do I speak Chinese. We started to do one hand chi sao today (would I be correct in calling it sticky hands in english?).

What is the theory behind doing Chi Sao exercises? and what should I be concentrating on when doing it - physical and mental?

My sifu kept saying "feel force" and "No power". I think I was using to much brute force and strength to block and attack. And at times I felt as if I was playing patty cake!!

Someone please help me!!!!
Thanks

macaulay
07-02-2004, 04:30 AM
Chi sao builds contact reflexes. The key is to have a forward intention without using muscular strength to push too hard.

I'm still learning so I don't want to give you any wrong advice. This is the explanation given to me.

I admire your persistence and drive to train beyond the language barrier.

Yaksha
07-02-2004, 04:46 AM
Just feel the way it feels and relax. Making sure your partner is really trying to hit you is a great way to find out how good your technique is.

Just feel the way it feels and relax. I will say that if you can redirect their big force and not feel any force yourself, you are doing well.

Thats the point. To learn how to controll your opponet's mind and body with little effort.

reneritchie
07-02-2004, 06:55 AM
macaulay - Any relation to David Macaulay in Montreal?

reneritchie
07-02-2004, 06:57 AM
HFK- Work on maintain your paths (positions through the motions). Keep them as close to ideal as you can. That will acomplish a lot of it for you. Then you can work simple changes triggers by your partner's resistance.

Matrix
07-02-2004, 10:03 AM
Originally posted by Hungfutkune