PDA

View Full Version : looking for good school/sifu in Seattle

putz30
07-19-2004, 11:36 AM
Does anyone know of a good school or instructor in Seattle? I've been doing Oom Yung Doe for a couple of years and am looking to get into a more "valid" kung Fu style. OYD has a VERY money based training doctrine, meaning the more you pay and do extra seminars, the faster you get to your black belt. So, there's a lot of rich but unskilled black belts, and I don't want to be a part of that.

I actually work and train very hard and consistently, too, but I have been passed by people of lesser skill because I won't pay money up front, nor do I partake in extra $450 seminars that are only 2 hour classes. The thing is, I actually love the training and much of what is taught is good and helpful, but I think overall the school is pretty suspect. I've read a lot of bad history on the school, and although I think it's somewhat reformed now, they still seemed very geared towards making Master Kim a rich man.

Does anyone have any advice? I'm looking for something where I can study long forms, tai chi... not really interested in "kick-ass" mentality training. I'm still recovering from a car accident where my pelvis and femur were crushed and SI bone fractured, so that also needs to be taken into account.

Fu-Pow
07-19-2004, 12:08 PM
Get out of Oom Yung Doe....now!!! It's a frickn' cult.

Check out....

www.makskungfu.com

Fast paced, younger crowd. More strenuous workout.

$85/ month, train as much as you want.

www.taoiststudiesinstitute.org

Chen Taiji, BaGua and Xing Yi. Slower paced, older crowd. Very good for you if you are recovering from an accident.

Ongoing Class Fees
Monthly class fees:

Classes / Week
1 $50
2 $80
3 $95
4 $120
5 or more $145

I'll tell you some schools to avoid if you PM me.

Take care!

phoenix-eye
07-19-2004, 04:47 PM
How's about traditional Hung Gar?

http://willn34.home.mindspring.com/kungfu/kungfu.html

Cheers

Paul

putz30
07-19-2004, 04:58 PM