PDA

View Full Version : XingYi in Central Florida?

SCFalken
07-24-2004, 06:24 AM
Question for the gurus:

I'm headed to the University of Florida, in the Spring. Is there a good/reputable Xingyi instructor within driving distance?

UF has good Martial Arts clubs, but they are mostly Karate/Judo. The Shotokan group is particularly good, but I've been studying Shotokan for 6 years now, and would like to experience something different.

Thanks for any info.

Mike

BigRedMountain
07-27-2004, 08:32 PM
Mike,
Thank you for posting your inquiry. I am always so pleased to encounter fellow Internal Artists in Central Florida.
There are several excellent Xingyi instructors in our area. A few of those instructors, also still train, under a Xingyi / Tai Chi Master named Huan Fan Wang.

Master Wang’s class is in the downtown Orlando area on Tuesday and Thursday evenings, from about 6:30 until everyone is ready to go home. The students interested in Tai Chi meet first and the Xingyi students start to gather around 8:00ish. A few who are interested in one art, soon find themselves attending both sessions.

This is not a particularly fancy class, with everyone in matching uniforms that have extravagant logos, not that there’s anything wrong with that.
What you WILL find there are some of the most dedicated Internal Artists in the area. Some of his students have over 20 years of experience in their respective arts. I am aware of 2 students that travel over 50 miles to attend his classes.

Please, feel free to treat yourself to a visit.
But don’t put it off for very long. He will only be in this area for another couple of years before returning to China.

I will be happy to give you directions or answer any further questions you may have.
You can E-mail me at cad@cfl.rr.com

~Peace~

BigRedMountain
07-27-2004, 08:50 PM
Mike,
I also have to tell you that there is an amazing school located less than 5 miles from the UCF campus named “Extreme Harmony Marshal Arts Academy”.