PDA

View Full Version : Relaxation

StevoWC
07-28-2004, 10:14 AM
Hi All,

I am new to this forum and also relatively new to Wing Chun. I have been training in Kamon Wing Chun Kung Fu for 10 months now and I really enjoy it.

One thing I am struggling with in my training is the ability to fully relax. I have noticed it gradually gets better as the months go by but I was wondering if anyone had any tips or advice on how to get full relaxation. I take deep breaths to relax my shoulders and I do focus. Is relaxation something that comes over time when studying Wing Chun??? of are there other ways that help?

Any constructive comments would be greatly appreciated

:D

sihing
07-28-2004, 02:14 PM
StevoWC,
Welcome to the forum Steve. As for being "fully relaxed" during training, I wouldn't recommend that at all. There should always be calmness when training or fighting, but one must also be ready to move or react or initiate a movement when training or fighting for real. In my WC, we stress that when the guard (WU Sao) is up, there should be a static forward intention in the arms/body, that way if one tries to attack the guard it will not just collapse and be more susceptible to an attack. This forward intention in the arms/body should always be there during two person training drills and during sparring, chi-sao, forms & actual fighting. Not all WC lineages adhere to this concept.

When at home after a training session I would recommend to fully relax then, and at the same time try to vividly imagine the movements that you learned and practice that day, to help the neural pathways to develop properly. When something is imagined vividly enough the mind does not know the difference between what was imagined and what really happened.
I used this type of training method when I began my training 16yrs ago and have found it to work, as a supplement to actual physical training.

Sihing

anerlich
07-28-2004, 04:08 PM
Yoga.