PDA

View Full Version : Wing Chun and Painful Knees.

Hungfutkune
07-30-2004, 09:32 AM
I wonder if anybody here has some advice for me. I have been training in Wing Chun now for about 1 month and I am finding that the pigeon toed horse stance is causing some pain in my Knee. I have mentioned to my sifu and he tells me to stretch. (My sifu doesn't speak english, and I don't speak chinese, so it makes for an interesting class). The pain is mostly in my left knee on the outside (left part of the knee). Am I doing the stance wrong? If so how do I correct it. Does anybody else have the same problem and will I grow out of it. Hope to hear from you soon!! I should also add, I am a relative beginner to Wing Chun, but I have done about 4 years of Hung Gar and never had any problems with my knees.

Thanks

StevoWC
07-30-2004, 10:08 AM
Hey,

I've been doing wing chun for about 10 months and I had the same problem as your explaining. My knee's hurt for a couple of months and then gradually the pain got less and less. Now I have very little, if not any.

Stretching is good and shaking out your legs helps with the pain. As your legs strenghen though the pain will go away. You just have to stick with it.

The only other explanation I can think of is that your sitting to deep in your stance which of course would put added pressure on your knees and legs.

Hope this helps!!!

Stevo

Matrix
07-30-2004, 10:35 AM
Hungfutkune,