PDA

View Full Version : Proper way to lift weights

wind draft
08-19-2004, 08:29 AM
I just started lifting weights like 2 times a week. I want to ask if anyone has experience a good method to train in lifting weight to gain speed and explosive power? What is a good routine to increase and not decrease in martial skills? Thanks.

MasterKiller
08-19-2004, 08:31 AM
You might read this thread I just posted.

http://forum.kungfumagazine.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=32000

GunnedDownAtrocity
08-19-2004, 08:44 AM
also browse through the health and fitness forum. tons of good info there.

wind draft
08-19-2004, 08:55 AM
Thanks. Masterkiller, I've read that already. It doesn't really state on a good routine Thanks.

David Jamieson
08-19-2004, 08:56 AM
tie them to your balls and stand in a horse stance on 2, 9 foot posts.

stubbs
08-19-2004, 09:22 AM
"and if you don't have any balls ask a friend if you can play with his" Jeffery, Rainbow
________
Vapir Air One Vaporizer (http://vaporizers.net/vapir-air-one)

themeecer
08-19-2004, 09:22 AM
If it is a real heavy weight I will use a crowbar to lift it off the ground or put a dolly under that. It seems to work pretty well.

MasterKiller
08-19-2004, 09:30 AM
I thought this might be related to what you were asking:

MAX GROUP: Repeated maximal strength efforts

3 sets of 3 repetitions @ 90% of 1RM
2 sets of 2 repetitions @ 95% of 1RM
2 sets of 2 repetitions @ 97% of 1RM
1 set of 1 repetition @ 100% of 1RM

Total: 18 repetitions in 8 sets with an average intensity of 94.3% of 1RM. Pauses between sets: 3 minutes
Performance of the movements: explosive contraction

This kind of program is appropriate for reducing the strength deficit.

REF GROUP: Repeated strength efforts until failure

3 sets of 12 repetitions @ 70% of 1RM

Total: 36 repetitions in 3 sets with an average intensity of 70% of 1 RM.
Pauses between sets: 2 minutes
Performance of the movements: repetitions to failure.