PDA

View Full Version : To Evolution Fist

Lowereside
08-27-2004, 09:47 AM
Evolution Fist,

Just curious. who did you study Southern mantis and wing chun

with. Also heard many good things about your current teacher,

Bong Chan. Very hands on from what I heard.

Thanks,

Lowereside

Ray Pina
08-27-2004, 10:13 AM
I studied with Mr. Mark Manganiello ... who is a student of Mr. Milton Chin (Uncle Milton).

I met him when I was learning Hung Gar and Wing Chun from his brother on Long Island: http://www.lingnamsiulum.com/sifu.htm

As far as my master goes, he truly is my hero, what I've been looking for. He's 64 years old and still throws down regularly. In fact, some taiji guys came about a month go and joined the school. Their teacher came, now he's been paying on a class by class basis and their grandteacher is coming tonight .... should be interesting.

I've learned a lot. Absorbed some. But I can say I now feel safe. I have "lost" a few competitive boughts but I haven't been "beaten" in a while .... know what I mean? I'm learning what it truly means to close the door and control engagements some what.

Still a lot of work to be done though. I have to tighten up my clinch game and broaden my playing field on the ground. I'd like to do some MMA events in about a year. With that said I'm probbaly only at greenbelt level. We don't use belts (I think the kids class does) but I see what I know and what there is to know and that doesn't include the sword and pole.

Best of all though .... really good people at the school. No egos. Hard to have one when a smallish old-guy beats you up.:)

We're in your neighborhood (161 Bowery); you should stop by. Definitely worth a glance.

Lowereside
08-27-2004, 10:30 AM
Evolution Fist,

Thank You for your reply.

I do know of Mark Manganiello, Not personnally however,

but of him. I did'nt know he was teaching Southern Mantis,

Interesting. Milton Chin I have met and do know.

For Bong Chan, not to many on his level. You have found