PDA

View Full Version : Making my weightclass?

zbloff2
09-09-2004, 06:20 AM
Hi,
I'm going to compete in sanshou in 2 and a half weeks.
I'm currently weighing in at 79kg, and think I'll try to get into the -75 kg class.
Since I'm new to this, I'm wondering if anyone have any good tips to cut some wheight off WHILE still being able to train pretty hard meanwhile.
The weigh-in is scheduled between 08.30-10.30, and competition starts at 10.30 the same day. I have no idea about when during the day I'm going to compete.. it could be 10.30 but just as well 13.00...

Anyway.. my plan is to:
1: go with a general low-carb, high protein, high fat diet.
2: drink alot of water, and stop drinking water sometime before the weigh-in.
3: long morning walks.. I thought about intervall training.. but I'd rather put my endurance effort into sparring and bag-drills.
4: as much sparring and pad/bag work as I feel up to
5: perhaps some ptp...If i feel up too it..but this will be a second hand option

I would greatly appriciate some feedback and ideas both regarding my plan, and if you have any other ideas to do this smartly.

So now a couple off specific questions...

1:Taking into considerations that I'm competing rather shortly after weigh-in...when and if should I stop drinking water??

2:I guess it's a pretty good idea to go back to alot more carbs in the diet before competing.. about when should I make the shift towards more carbs?

That's all for now!
Thanks alot for helping me out!

p.s The competition is semi-contact and 2*2 minutes rounds with a possible third round if it's a draw

Toby
09-09-2004, 07:06 PM