PDA

View Full Version : Want to learn some Longfist where should I start?

Fu-Pow
09-16-2004, 05:36 PM
Hey Guys, I've been learning Choy Lay Fut and Chen Taiji for the past 8 years. I started out in Hung Gar.

I'm interested in learning some Northern Longfist as a kind of bridge between my two main styles and to further my understanding of kung fu in general.

(Later on I'm interested in studying some of the rarer Southern styles that may have fed into Choy Lay Fut ie Hung, Li, Mok, Choy and Lau.)

Choy Lay Fut and Chen Taiji may have a common origin in some "mother" style.

I'm not trying to be a form collector per se. I'm more interested in understanding CLF and Chen Taiji better.

What's a good place to start form wise? What could I learn on my own?

What is classified as "Shaolin" Longfist these days seems to include several different longfist "styles" into one curriculum.

The forms I've heard mentioned are

-Tan Tui
-Hong Quan
-Gong Li Quan
-Mi Zong Quan
-Tai Tzu Quan
-Fan Zi Quan
-Pi Qua Quan
-Tong Bei Quan

etc. etc.

Any ideas?

Thanks.

mickey
09-16-2004, 06:41 PM
Hello Fu-Pow,

Looking for connectives can be a lot of fun as well as frustrating.

If I was in your position I would look for the connectives within the styles that you currently study. I would pursue higher level studies of both styles. You may find connectives within theory, inner structure, names of techniques, etc.; for example, you may want to connect with the Chan family of the Choy Li Fut style (no, I do not know them) or the Chen family of Chen style. Simply going to another unrelated style will not accomplish that for you.

Take what you have found so far and build on it.

mickey

Starchaser107
09-16-2004, 07:14 PM
good luck on your journey, my only advice is try to find a school or a teacher that teaches traditionally and with the fighting elements of the style still intact rather than just forms. I'd hate for you to become disgruntled or disenchanted due to watering down.