PDA

View Full Version : Good Kung Fu places in Austin, TX?

Reggie1
09-16-2004, 09:49 PM
I'm very new to the Kung Fu world, but am planning on commiting a great deal of time to learning the art. I live in Austin, TX, are there any good places here to learn?

CaptinPickAxe
09-16-2004, 10:12 PM
Plenty.

Shuai Chiao:
www.combatshuaichiao.com

Taijiquan and Elephant Kung Fu:
www.taichiherb.com

and tons and tons of BJJ.

Just look.

Reggie1
09-16-2004, 10:17 PM
It looks like there are three that I have found so far:

Shaolin-Do, which appears to be a little questionable

Central Texas Kung-Fu, taught by Sifu Jeff Hughes. He teaches the 7* Praying Mantis system

East Wind Training Hall, specializine in the Northern Tiger system (Ling family Tiger system)

CaptinPickAxe
09-16-2004, 10:22 PM
A lot of people here feel that the lineage of Shaolin-Do is dubious. If you want to stick up for your art and endure the battery of most on this board, go for it! There was a white belt BJJ guy who was beaten by Joe Schaffer's 5th Degree black belt from bullshido, but he also beat a 3rd Degree. (Don't ask about Belts in Kung Fu...thats a whole nother can of worms)

I've met some of the Mantis cats at some parties up there, and they seem to know their stuff.

I know nothing about the Tiger school...

As is the truth with all martial arts, check it out before passing judgment.

Reggie1
09-16-2004, 10:27 PM
This is good stuff. That's what bugs me about Shaolin-Do--if you have a good art, why bother with the questionable history? It just seems a little too far-fetched for me.

CaptinPickAxe
09-16-2004, 10:31 PM
No problem. let us know how it goes. I'm from San Antonio so just drop me a line if you wanna spar with me and a few of the Shuai Chiao players.

Reggie1
09-16-2004, 10:35 PM
I'll let you know how it's going--thanks again for the help. I think I'll wait a while to take you up on the sparring, I'm pretty out of shape.

CaptinPickAxe
09-16-2004, 10:37 PM